小型农场

油棕种植面积小于25公顷的农场被定义为小型油棕农场。平均每个小型农场管理约2公顷农场。在传统意义上,农户提供主要劳动力,并种植其它农作物以维持生计1。
1.

小型农场可以分为两类:规划型和独立型。

以合同或信贷协议形式与特定工厂合作
自主选择合作的工厂运营商或代理商
接受工厂管理者在种植、作物管理技巧等方面的监管和培训
受政府机构、企业或合作社的规划或援助的程度

截至2015年,小型农场的棕榈油种植园约占印度尼西亚市场的40%——其中22.5%为独立型小型农场(254万公顷),17.7%为规划型小型农场(200万公顷)。据估算,印度尼西亚全国约有超过100万家小型农场2。2.

截至2015年,小型农场的棕榈油种植园约占印度尼西亚市场的40%——其中22.5%为独立型小型农场(254万公顷),17.7%为规划型小型农场(200万公顷)。据估算,印度尼西亚全国约有超过100万家小型农场2。

延伸阅读:小型农场对棕榈油可持续发展至关重要的四个原因

1 RSPO小型农场定义。可持续棕榈油圆桌倡议组织(RSPO)。链接地址:.
2 印度尼西亚可持续棕榈油组织(ISPO)小型农场情况概述。Daemeter,2015年11月。链接地址:.

春金集团帮助小型农场可持续发展

独立型小型农场通常处于劣势,他们缺少接触先进技术和运营知识的机会,市场和财务资源相对欠缺。因此常常导致其产出率、利润率和可持续发展程度均处于较低水平。规划型小型农场与企业间有业务合作关系,因此有机会接触技术知识和财务资源。这部分将在我们的KKPA方案中涉及。

研究显示,印度尼西亚独立型小型农场比企业种植园产出率低116%3 。研究同时特别强调了小型农场的农业操作及其提升空间,如肥料的有效利用和最佳收获期等。

由于小型农场依赖于森林和环境维持生计,推行可持续型棕榈油生产至关重要,以确保恢复力和长期经济增长。

What is the smallholder program?

Targeted at independent smallholders, this program aims to integrate independent oil palm smallholders into sustainable palm oil supply chains. Its curriculum is developed from a diagnostic study on smallholders and is developed around five components that would encourage smallholders to produce oil palm sustainably.

3 Diagnostic Study on Indonesian Oil Palm Smallholders. IFC, 2013. Retrieved here.
4 Diagnostic Study on Indonesian Oil Palm Smallholders. IFC, 2013. Retrieved here.

  • Yield

    Improve oil palm agricultural practices. Increase quality and yield. Increase income and improve livelihoods.

  • market access

    Increase market access by enhancing communication between smallholders and mills. Improve access to agri-finance for fertilisers.

  • replanting

    Support replacement and replanting efforts in case of aging palm trees.

  • legitimacy

    Confirm legality of the smallholders’ land titles.

  • Alternate livelihoods

    Assist smallholders to generate alternative income.

Figure 1: Four main components of Musim Mas’ smallholder programme

The curriculum modules within components of the smallholder program is designed such that smallholders work towards NDPE policy compliance (see Figure 2). The modules and components are geared towards improving the livelihoods of smallholders. It covers good agricultural practices, financial literacy and personal nutrition.

Figure 2: Modules taught in Musim Mas’ smallholder programme

Improving independent smallholders’ access to finance empowers them towards better profitability, social cohesion and environmental protection. To facilitate this process, Musim Mas financed a working paper by the Singapore Institute of International Affairs (SIIA) to explore the prospect of providing green financing to independent smallholders.

Read the full working paper here.

小型农场约占我们供应体系的40%。对我们而言,有必要将尽可能多的独立型小型农场纳入到项目之中。

我们的行动路线图将小型农场项目的全过程划分为三个阶段(参见图3)。

Figure 3: Scaling up Musim Mas’ smallholder programme in three phases

印度尼西亚小型农场的棕榈油发展项目

2015年以来,春金集团与国际金融公司(IFC)合作,帮助北苏门答腊和廖内地区的独立型小型农场达到与被大型棕榈油组织收购的农场同样的农业效率标准。

这项合作被称为印度尼西亚棕榈油小型农场发展计划,为小型农场提供农艺培训、金融支持和全球市场通路,以及有关终止使用百草枯等产品的法律要求的教育。图2显示项目内容的主要模块。

作为印度尼西亚最大的独立型小型农场项目,该项目预计在2020年覆盖超过20,000家小型农场,帮助2,000家小型农场改善能力,取得RSPO认证。

我们的小型农场项目考虑到印度尼西亚的种族多样性和复杂性,始终确保我们与村长和社区成员间的积极关系。我们提供高质量的培训和支持,帮助小型农场取得政府补贴等财务援助和认证。

第三方供应商服务延展项目

2017年,我们引入了服务延展计划(ESP),将我们的小型农场项目拓展至我们第三方供应商中的独立型小型农场。ESP项目的设计基于对重要场地的风险评估和工厂问卷调研发现形成。


图4:春金集团的服务延展项目(ESP)

ESP项目的内容是我们小型农场项目第一阶段的反映。ESP着重关注以良好的农业实践方法帮助独立型小型农场改善其在特定区域内的产出率。

ESP项目对于与第三方供应商工厂间的积极合作关系有巩固作用,以可持续的方式生产棕榈油,并依照NDPE要求开展业务。

我们希望,到2020年,ESP项目可以触达5,000家小型农场。

小型农场中枢

随着我们将小型农场项目由自有工厂拓展至第三方供应商工厂,我们认识到,基于地理区域或区域级的联动至关重要。小型农场中枢建立了一个平台,棕榈油企业借此分享经验和资源以培训独立型小型农场,对区域内的客户选择不设限制(第三阶段见图3)。

我们正在于NGO组织沟通,探讨小型农场中枢如何可以整合进其现有的多利益相关者项目,该项目在区域层面展开,有政府机构和私人单位介入。

一家企业自己可以为NDPE贡献的力量有限。我们已意识到经济繁荣、社区发展和环境保护之间的微妙平衡。为了使小型农场中枢成为现实,我们与利益相关者合作,期待达成共同的目标。这些利益相关者包括地区政府、政府部门、采购方、NGO与CSO组织、种植商、工厂、顾问、以及小型农场。

至今,我们的小型农场项目足迹已遍及全印度尼西亚。

Independent smallholder program:

Province District Musim Mas’ Mill Mill Name Started In Smallholders Trained
Aceh Aceh Tamiang PT Pati Sari Apr-18 179
Central Kalimantan Karamuan PT Multipersada Gatramegah (MPG) Apr-19 74
South Sumatra Musi Bayuasin PT Bastian Olah Sawit (BOS) Dec-17 261
North Sumatra Rantau Prapat PT Siringo-ringo (SRR) Apr-15 5569
Riau Indragiri Hilir PT Guntung IdamanNusa (GIN) Dec-18 261
Riau Pelalawan PT Sinar Agro Raya (SAR) Oct-16 2708
Riau Roakn Hilir PT Bahana Nusa Interindo (BANI) Oct-16 3302
Riau Road Hulu PT Indomakmur Sawit Berjaya (ISB) Oct-16 4404

For progress on our schemed smallholders, refer here.

规划型小型农场以合同或信贷协议形式与特定工厂合作。我们为其提供种植材料,如种子、废料和虫害控制产品等。我们投入大量资源帮助他们更好地开展农业实践。规划型小型农场通常由其合作的工厂指导和监督。

我们通过两种途径与我们的规划型小型农场建立联系:通过小型农场合作,即与拥有种植园的农户建立定制性联系的一对一模式;通过乡村计划,即以村庄为单位集中管理种植园的社区模式。两种形式均是在1990年代自发兴起的,早于印度尼西亚法规的颁布。2007年,印度尼西亚颁布相关规定,要求企业建立小型农场项目以回馈社区。

Kredit Koperasi Primer Anggota

1996年,我们发起了名为Kredit Koperasi Primer Anggota (KKPA)的基础企业信贷计划,面向土地面积小于2公顷的小型农场家庭单元。KKPA计划最初在印度尼西亚西苏门答腊省西帕萨曼县发起,为当地社区提供棕榈油生产所需的必要技术和技能。项目为小型农场提供实用的支持,包括银行贷款担保和农技培训,并提供高质量的种子和肥料。

KKPA计划中的小型农场于2010年取得了RSPO认证。西苏门答腊省的KKPA计划是印度尼西亚第一个取得印度尼西亚版本RSPO P&C认证的小型农场项目。这些小型农场必须严格遵守RSPO标准,接受每五年的一次全面查验以及一年四次的监控评估。

KKPA计划最初在762家小型农场推出,如今已涉及2,423家小型农场,总种植面积达到4,625公顷(数据截止2017年12月31日)。

KKPA计划将持续提升产能。参与项目的规划型小型农场2015年收入860亿印尼卢比,在过去几年中收入增长30-40%,这为社区发展做出了贡献。例如,合作社为建造清真寺、幼儿园和室内体育中心贡献了力量。

乡村发展项目

2000年,春金集团面向规划型小型农场推出了拓展项目,即乡村发展项目(VDP)。与我们面向独立型小型农场的合作模式不同,VDP项目将关注点落在社区管理的种植园。项目目的在于通过在不改变土地所有权的前提下管理油棕种植园,推动经济独立性,改善周边区域社区民生。

通过VDP项目,春金集团为油棕行业的发展提供基金和投资,同时为社区提供油棕种植方面的技术指导和培训。油棕一旦进入其产油期,将被出售给春金集团,而拥有种植园所有权的村庄将获得销售FFB的报酬。这些收入将被用于支付运营成本和分期支付投资成本。

我们最初在4个村庄的12公顷种植园开展该项目。如今,项目已覆盖16个村庄。

由于VDP项目的推行,乡村综合收入在过去几年中几乎翻了一番,2018年总计达10亿印尼卢比。

language 语言
language

Smallholders

Oil palm smallholders are farmers with less than 25 hectares of planted oil palm. On average, smallholders manage about 2 hectares per household. Traditionally, the family provides the majority of labor and grows other crops for subsistence1.

There are two types of smallholders: Scheme and Independent.

Scheme smallholders Independent smallholders
Bounded to a particular mill by contract or credit agreement
Autonomy to work with mill operator or agent of their choice
Receive supervision and training on planting, crop management techniques by mill managers
Access to schemes or assistance from government agencies, businesses or cooperatives High Low

As of 2015, smallholders in Indonesia hold approximately 40% of oil palm plantations – independent smallholders at 22.5% (2.54 million ha) and plasma or scheme smallholders at 17.7% (2 million ha). There is an estimated number of over 1 million smallholders in Indonesia2. Yet, only less than 1% of independent smallholders are certified by the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) and Indonesia Sustainable Palm Oil (ISPO)3.

According to the Palm Oil Agribusiness Strategic Policy Initiative (PASPI), smallholders are set to manage 60% of Indonesia’s oil palm plantations by 2030. This means that smallholders are a substantial group that must be included in the journey to make sustainable palm oil the norm.

Read: Four reasons why smallholders are key to sustainable palm oil

1 RSPO Smallholders Definition. Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO). Retrieved here.
2 Overview of Indonesian Oil Palm Smallholder Farmers. Daemeter, November 2015. Retrieved here.
3 Smallholder Farmers Are Key to Making the Palm Oil Industry Sustainable. World Resources Institute (WRI), March 2018. Retrieved here.

 

Independent smallholders are usually disadvantaged due to the lack of access to updated technical and operational knowledge, limited access to markets, and financial resources. The result is often lower yield productivity, profitability, and sustainability standards. Scheme smallholders, due to their business relations with companies, have access to technical knowledge and financial resources. This is covered under our KKPA (Kredit Koperasi Primer Anggota) scheme.

Research from International Finance Corporation, a member of the World Bank, shows that independent smallholder yield is 116% below company plantations in Indonesia. The research also highlighted the agricultural practices of smallholders and how it can be improved, such as the efficient use of fertilizers and optimal harvesting periods.

As smallholders depend on the forests and environment for their livelihood, it is essential to promote sustainable production of oil palm to ensure resilience and long-term economic growth.

What is the smallholder program?

Targeted at independent smallholders, our program aims to integrate independent oil palm smallholders into sustainable palm oil supply chains. Its curriculum is developed from a diagnostic study on smallholders and is developed around five components that would encourage smallholders to produce oil palm sustainably.

  • Yield

    Improve oil palm agricultural practices. Increase quality and yield. Increase income and improve livelihoods.

  • Market access

    Increase market access by enhancing communication between smallholders and mills. Improve access to agri-finance for fertilizers.

  • Replanting

    Support replacement and replanting efforts in the case of aging palm trees.

  • Legitimacy

    Confirm the legality of the smallholders’ land titles.

  • Alternate livelihoods

    Assist smallholders to generate alternative income.

The curriculum modules within components of the smallholder program are designed such that smallholders work towards NDPE policy compliance. The modules and components are geared towards improving the livelihoods of smallholders. It covers good agricultural practices, financial literacy, and personal nutrition. The figure below lists the modules taught in the smallholder program.

Improving independent smallholders’ access to finance empowers them towards better profitability, social cohesion, and environmental protection. To facilitate this process, Musim Mas financed a working paper by the Singapore Institute of International Affairs (SIIA) to explore the prospect of providing green financing to independent smallholders.

Read the full working paper here.

Smallholders form approximately 40% of our supply base. It is important for us to engage as many independent smallholders as possible.

To fully scale up smallholder programs, we developed a roadmap with three approaches (see Figure 1 below).

Figure 1: Scaling up Musim Mas’ smallholder program via three approaches

Indonesian Palm Oil Development for Smallholders program

Since 2015, Musim Mas has collaborated with the International Finance Corporation (IFC) to assist independent smallholders in North Sumatra and Riau to meet the same efficient farming standards as those adopted by large palm oil organizations.

The collaboration, dubbed the Indonesian Palm Oil Development for Smallholders program, provides smallholders with agronomic training, access to financial support and global markets, and education on legal requirements such as terminating paraquat use. See th above action for the main modules in the program curriculum.

As the largest independent smallholder program in Indonesia, the project aims to reach out to 20,000 smallholders by 2020 and build the capacity for 2,000 smallholders to achieve RSPO certification.

Our smallholder program takes into consideration Indonesia’s ethnic diversity and complexity, always ensuring that we maintain positive relationships with the village chiefs and community members. We offer quality training and assistance to help smallholders gain access to financial aid such as government subsidies, and certification programs.

Extension Services Program for Third-Party Suppliers

In 2017, we introduced the Extension Services Program (ESP) to extend our smallholder program to the independent smallholders of our third-party suppliers. The ESP was developed based on findings from risk assessments and mill questionnaires within priority landscapes.


Figure 2: Musim Mas’ Extension Services Program (ESP)

The curriculum of ESP mirrors our smallholder program in Approach 1. The ESP has a strong emphasis on good agricultural practices to assist independent smallholders in improving their yields within the specified districts.

ESP cements an active partnership with third-party supplier mills to produce palm oil sustainably and works towards NDPE compliance.

We aim to engage 5,000 smallholders by 2020 through ESP.

Smallholder Hub

As we scale up our smallholder program from our own mills to third-party suppliers’ mills, we recognize that a coordinated effort based on geographical area or district level is paramount. The Smallholder Hub is a platform where palm oil companies share their expertise and resources to train independent smallholders, regardless of whom they sell to, within a specific district.

We are in talks with NGOs to discuss how the Smallholder Hub can be integrated into their existing multi-stakeholder programs which involve the government and the private sector on a district level.

There are limitations to what one single company can do to address NDPE concerns. We are aware of the delicate balance between economic prosperity, developing the community, and conserving the environment. To make the Smallholder Hub a reality, we are working with stakeholders with common goals, such as the provincial government, government departments, buyers, NGOs and CSOs, growers, mills, consultants, and smallholders.

To date, we have established smallholder programs across Indonesia.

Independent smallholder program:

Province District Musim Mas’ Mill Mill Name Started In Smallholders Trained
Aceh Aceh Tamiang PT Pati Sari Apr-18 179
Central Kalimantan Karamuan PT Multipersada Gatramegah (MPG) Apr-19 74
South Sumatra Musi Bayuasin PT Bastian Olah Sawit (BOS) Dec-17 261
North Sumatra Rantau Prapat PT Siringo-ringo (SRR) Apr-15 5569
Riau Indragiri Hilir PT Guntung IdamanNusa (GIN) Dec-18 261
Riau Pelalawan PT Sinar Agro Raya (SAR) Oct-16 2708
Riau Roakn Hilir PT Bahana Nusa Interindo (BANI) Oct-16 3302
Riau Road Hulu PT Indomakmur Sawit Berjaya (ISB) Oct-16 4404

For progress on our scheme smallholders, refer here.

Scheme smallholders are structurally bound to a specific mill by contract or credit agreement. We provide them with planting materials such as seeds, fertilizers and pest control. We invest significant resources for them to adopt good agricultural practices. Schemed smallholders are generally guided and overseen by the management of the mill, estate or scheme to which they are linked.

We reach out to our scheme smallholders in two ways: through a smallholder cooperative which is an individual-based approach tailored to families that own a plantation; and through a village program, a community-based approach designed for villages that collectively manage plantations. Both programs were initiated voluntarily in the 1990s, well before the 2007 establishment of Indonesian regulations that require companies to facilitate the creation of plasma smallholder schemes for the benefit of surrounding communities.

Kredit Koperasi Primer Anggota

In 1996, we initiated a primary cooperative credit scheme called Kredit Koperasi Primer Anggota (KKPA) for smallholder family units who own two hectares of land or less. KKPA was first introduced in West Pasaman Regency in the Indonesian province of West Sumatra to empower local communities to achieve the necessary technology and skills to undertake palm oil cultivation. The scheme provides smallholders with practical support, including bank loan guarantees, agricultural training, and the transfer of quality seeds and fertilizers.

The smallholders under the KKPA scheme achieved compliance with the RSPO certification requirements in 2010. The KKPA in West Sumatra was the first smallholder scheme in Indonesia to receive the Indonesian National Interpretation of the RSPO P&C certification. These smallholders must now strictly adhere to RSPO standards, undertaking one main audit every five years and four annual surveillance assessments.

The KKPA scheme, which was launched with 762 smallholders, now comprises of 2,423 smallholders cultivating a total planted area of 4,625 hectares (as at 31 December 2017).

The KKPA scheme continues to increase productivity. The income of scheme smallholders has grown by 30-40% over the last few years, from just IDR 86 billion in 2015. This has reaped benefits for community development. For instance, the cooperative contributed to the construction of a mosque, a kindergarten, and an indoor sports center.

Village Development Program

In 2000, Musim Mas launched an outreach initiative for schemed smallholders known as the Village Development Program (VDP). Unlike our smallholder cooperative approach, which targets individual smallholder units, VDP is tailored for community-managed plantations. It is set up to promote economic independence and improve the welfare of communities in the surrounding areas by managing oil palm plantations while the land remains under their ownership.

Through VDP, Musim Mas facilitates funding and investment for oil palm development while providing the communities with technical guidance and training on oil palm cultivation. Once the oil palm enters its productive years, it is sold to Musim Mas, and the villages that own the plantation receive the proceeds from sales of FFB. These proceeds are used to cover operational costs and as installments towards investment costs.

We started out with four villages covering 12 hectares. We now work with 16 villages under the program.

As a result of VDP, the combined income of the villages has almost doubled over the last few years, totaling IDR 1 billion as of 2018.

language LANGUAGE
language